Who is Mr. Sigafus? (The fun stuff)


Who is this teacher?

First off, if you are looking for the boring stuff about me… here’s a link to my Professional Bio

A BRIEF HISTORY

  • I was born in a western Colorado town called Montrose. For the first years of my childhood, we lived in a trailer park in town before we moved our trailer 10 miles away onto the old family homestead in the country.
  • I was raised in the family excavation business Sigafus Earthmoving where I learned how to operate heavy equipment and work hard. I am the 4th generation earthmover. (except I am now a teacher instead) 😉
    • It was in the family business as well as on a farm and feed lot that I learned so many of the skills that I now get to teach.
  • My love for running started in elementary school where I joined the school’s “Uncompahgre Braves Running Club”.
  • I continued to run on the track team throughout junior high and high school.  In order to stay in shape for track, I ran on the cross country team for 2 years (I was extremely slow), I played football my junior year, and finally, during my senior year, I dedicated myself to training for sprints year-round. My favorite race was the 100m.  I also competed for 1 year at Western State College in Gunnison, Colorado.
  • I served for 2 years as a missionary for my church in Germany a year after graduating from high school.  
  • Following my missionary service, I worked in the family business and as a cook at a family restaurant called Starvin’ Arvins while going to school at a local community college.
  • I attended Ricks College in Rexburg, Idaho, earning my associates degree. Later I graduated from Brigham Young University in 2000.
    • While attending school at BYU, I worked for their grounds crew running their heavy equipment (backhoe, mini excavator, loader, skid steer, forklift, etc) and driving a dump truck.
  • I married the love of my life in 2000 and have 5 children.

 

Jake-Bike Porcupine RimRidley_ExcaliburGT Force Carbon

Long blond hair

Screen Shot 2014-01-03 at 3.46.31 PM

What I do in my free time:

Hang out with my family
Cycling and Mountain Biking
Woodworking
Construction
Graphic design
Photography
Reading

My Favorites

Reading: My favorite genre is Sci-Fi / Fantasy. My current favorite author is Brandon Sanderson.  I don’t have a favorite book- too many to count.

What I did before I was a teacher:

Christmas & New Year_0008